Here is a collection of some helpful info on purchasing, owning, carrying or transporting firearms in California.



PURCHASING A FIREARM QUICK GUIDE

  • Be 18 of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun. 21 of age to purchase a handgun.
  • Must not be a felon or prohibited from owning/possesing a firearm. Able to pass a background check.
  • Documents to bring for background check: CA Driver Liscense, vehicle registration (or other document afirming your current address), FSC (see below).
  • Have or obtain a Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC). This is a basic firearm safety test that can be taken at most firearm dealers/stores. It is good for 5 years.
  • Pay DROS (Dealer Record of Sale) Fees, usually paid at time of purchase of firearm.
  • Complete 10 day waiting period.
  • After waiting period successfully perform a safe handling demonstration with the firearm being purchased or acquired.
  • Must have a California approved firearm safety device (gun lock). Most guns purchased now come with a gun lock but confirm before you pickup your gun.

From the Office of the Attorney General

PURCHASING A FIREARM (RETAIL)

In California, only licensed California firearms dealers who possess a valid Certificate of Eligibility (COE) are authorized to engage in retail sales of firearms . These retail sales require the purchaser to provide personal identifier information for the Dealer Record of Sale (DROS) document that the firearms dealer must submit to the DOJ . There is a mandatory 10-day waiting period before the firearms dealer can deliver the firearm to the purchaser . During this 10-day waiting period, the DOJ conducts a firearms eligibility background check to ensure the purchaser is not prohibited from lawfully possessing firearms . Although there are exceptions, generally all firearms purchasers must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a long gun (rifle or shotgun) and 21 years of age to purchase a handgun (pistol or revolver) . Additionally, purchasers must be California residents with a valid driver’s license or identification card issued by the California Department of Motor Vehicles.

To purchase or acquire a firearm, you must have a valid Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) . To obtain an FSC, you must score at least 75% on an objective written test pertaining to firearms laws and safety requirements . The test is administered by DOJ Certified Instructors, who are often located at firearms dealerships . An FSC is valid for five years. You may be charged up to $25 for an FSC . Firearms being returned to their owners, such as pawn returns, are exempt from this requirement . In the event of a lost, stolen or destroyed FSC, the issuing DOJ Certified Instructor will issue a replacement FSC for a fee of $5 . You must present proof of identity to receive a replacement FSC. (Pen . Code, §§ 31610-31670.)

Prior to taking delivery of a firearm, you must successfully perform a safe handling demonstration with the firearm being purchased or acquired . Safe handling demonstrations must be performed in the presence of a DOJ Certified Instructor sometime between the date the DROS is submitted to the DOJ and the delivery of the firearm, and are generally performed at the firearms dealership . The purchaser, firearms dealer and DOJ Certified Instructor must sign an affidavit stating the safe handling demonstration was completed . The steps required to complete the safe handling demonstration are described in the Appendix . Pawn returns and intra-familial transfers are not subject to the safe handling demonstration requirement . (Pen . Code, § 26850 .)

All firearms (long guns and handguns) purchased in California must be accompanied with a firearms safety device (FSD) that has passed required safety and functionality tests and is listed on the DOJ’s official roster of DOJ-approved firearm safety devices . The current roster of certified FSDs is available on the DOJ website at http://oag .ca .gov/firearms/fsdcertlist . The FSD requirement also can be satisfied if the purchaser signs an affidavit declaring ownership of either a DOJ-approved lock box or a gun safe capable of accommodating the firearm being purchased . Pawn returns and intra-familial transfers are not subject to the FSD requirement . (Pen . Code, §§ 23635-23690 .)


PURCHASING A FIREARM FROM PRIVATE PARTY

Generally, it is illegal for any person who is not a California licensed firearms dealer (private party) to sell or transfer a firearm to another non-licensed person (private party) unless the sale or transfer is completed through a licensed California firearms dealer . A “Private Party Transfer” (PPT) can be conducted at any licensed California firearms dealership . The buyer and seller must complete the required DROS document in person at the licensed firearms dealership and deliver the firearm to the dealer who will retain possession of the firearm during the mandatory 10-day waiting period . In addition to the applicable state fees, the firearms dealer may charge a fee not to exceed $10 per firearm for conducting the PPT.

To purchase or acquire a firearm, you must have a valid Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) . To obtain an FSC, you must score at least 75% on an objective written test pertaining to firearms laws and safety requirements . The test is administered by DOJ Certified Instructors, who are often located at firearms dealerships . An FSC is valid for five years. You may be charged up to $25 for an FSC . Firearms being returned to their owners, such as pawn returns, are exempt from this requirement . In the event of a lost, stolen or destroyed FSC, the issuing DOJ Certified Instructor will issue a replacement FSC for a fee of $5 . You must present proof of identity to receive a replacement FSC. (Pen . Code, §§ 31610-31670.)

Prior to taking delivery of a firearm, you must successfully perform a safe handling demonstration with the firearm being purchased or acquired . Safe handling demonstrations must be performed in the presence of a DOJ Certified Instructor sometime between the date the DROS is submitted to the DOJ and the delivery of the firearm, and are generally performed at the firearms dealership . The purchaser, firearms dealer and DOJ Certified Instructor must sign an affidavit stating the safe handling demonstration was completed . The steps required to complete the safe handling demonstration are described in the Appendix . Pawn returns and intra-familial transfers are not subject to the safe handling demonstration requirement . (Pen . Code, § 26850 .)

All firearms (long guns and handguns) purchased in California must be accompanied with a firearms safety device (FSD) that has passed required safety and functionality tests and is listed on the DOJ’s official roster of DOJ-approved firearm safety devices . The current roster of certified FSDs is available on the DOJ website at http://oag .ca .gov/firearms/fsdcertlist . The FSD requirement also can be satisfied if the purchaser signs an affidavit declaring ownership of either a DOJ-approved lock box or a gun safe capable of accommodating the firearm being purchased . Pawn returns and intra-familial transfers are not subject to the FSD requirement . (Pen . Code, §§ 23635-23690 .)



From the Office of the Attorney General

TRANSPORTING A HANDGUN IN CALIFORNIA

Pursuant to California Penal Code section 25610, a United States citizen over 18 years of age who is not prohibited from firearm possession, and who resides or is temporarily in California, may transport by motor vehicle any handgun provided it is unloaded and locked in the vehicle’s trunk or in a locked container. Furthermore, the handgun must be carried directly to or from any motor vehicle for any lawful purpose and, while being carried must be contained within a locked container.

Pursuant to California Penal Code section 16850, the term "locked container" means a secure container that is fully enclosed and locked by a padlock, key lock, combination lock, or similar locking device. This includes the trunk of a motor vehicle, but does not include the utility or glove compartment. s

TRANSPORTING SHOTGUNS AND RIFLES IN CALIFORNIA

Nonconcealable firearms (shotguns and rifles) are not generally covered within the provisions of California Penal Code section 25400 and therefore are not required to be transported in a locked container. However, as with any firearm, nonconcealable firearms must be unloaded while they are being transported.

TRANSPORTING A REGISTERED ASSAULT WEAPON IN CALIFORNIA

California Penal Code section 30945, subdivision (g) provides that registered assault weapons may be transported only between specified locations and must be unloaded and stored in a locked container when transported.

Pursuant to California Penal Code section 16850, the term "locked container" means a secure container that is fully enclosed and locked by a padlock, key lock, combination lock, or similar locking device. This includes the trunk of a motor vehicle, but does not include the utility or glove compartment.







FlawedSociety.com